Overall based on 39 reviews
Good workhorse
Dringer, 23. Jan 2014
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
Does the job required of it, represents good value for money would be better if it came with two batteries as standard
Great drill,great price!
Hagalout, 13. Jan 2014
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
Bought this in a Scewfix sale and i am very happy with its performance and value for money.Always used cheaper drills before this one but would not go back to cheaper products. This has done all asked of it with no problems.
Just the Job!
BarneyG, 9. Jan 2014
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
Good value for this, most trusted, brand. Don't know how I ever did without this tool: so easy to use and change bits. I can do jobs with ease and in a fraction of the time now. It's light, very controllable and flexible.
Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-I
boas, 3. Oct 2013
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
Appears to be an excellent drill for the price, Have not used much yet but seems fine and does what its supposed to.
Lack of serious power ?
Immigrator, 28. Sep 2013
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
I recently purchased one of these drills to replace my old Bosch, and because it was better value than purchasing a spare battery, I also purchased a Bosch 18v combi drill on offer at the same time, same price, both 1.3ah batteries. First serious use was to drive some large 3" 12s through pre-drilled 2" timber and into pre-drilled and plugged holes in brick to erect a porch frame. The makita gave up and the clutch operated on max torque with an inch of screw still protruding. However, the Bosch sent it home with ease. The Makita lacks punch when it is needed most so if it's serious grunt you want go for the Bosch equivalent, same price, no box ( or get an impact driver ! ). However, that said, the makita is still a nice piece of kit and great value for money if you get it for the special deal price (£99). haven't had it long enough to rate reliability.
Brilliant piece of kit
jigglyjohn, 13. Sep 2013
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
I use cordless drills daily for various tasks in my work self employed and this has to be the best value combination drill driver I have bought to date (and I do go through a few) My main criteria for a drill is the battery and longevity of use and I bought the extra battery with this as it was on offer so I can use this all day long without worrying about the battery going flat - Absolutely brilliant piece of kit.
So far so good
TheRealBigMan, 12. Sep 2013
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
Probably still too early to say, but my 1st impression of it, is that its a great drill, quick charge time & not too heavy.Only time will tell, so check back in a few months.
Makita BHP453SH 18V 1.3Ah Li-I
Stjoey1, 11. Sep 2013
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
Fantastic drill for a fantastic price,drills through virtually anything with great ease,very powerful drill,highly recommend it.Screwfix service was impeccable to.Fantastic.
Great drill
CuttingEdge, 9. Sep 2013
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
This drill is a big improvement on my last drill (14v) you can really feel the extra power. Fast charging so I probably won't need an extra battery. I have used it for a few jobs in the three weeks I have had it. I have been very satisfied with the speed and power of drilling and driving. The hammer action has gone into brick well. I have not yet had to recharge the battery.
Makita combi drill
makitauser, 9. Sep 2013
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
A really good combi drill for the price, very powerful, long lasting battery and comfortable to use all day long. Dissapointed that I purchased with a spare battery deal and a few days later the same offer was on including spare battery and 101 piece bit set
Toy Drill
paulm123, 3. Sep 2013
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
This drill is very underpowered! I have only had it a few months and found the battery needed recharging too often. To top it all I have just tried to screw some M8 wood to metal screws into oak and smelled burning with smoke coming from the drill. I will be asking for refund tomorrow!
Brilliant
Wurz1, 31. Aug 2013
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
great bit of kit. exceeded expectation and capability. definitely recommend this item
A drill that won't drill
, 28. Aug 2013
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
Very disappointed with the drill because when you try to drill with the higher speed and you hit any harder material the drill sounds as if the clutch is slipping and stops turning. There is no setting to allow you to prevent this happening and carry on drilling apart from going into the slow speed. Of all the cordless drills I have owned, I have never had this problem.
Seems underpowered for masonry
buzzfromBedfont, 20. Aug 2013
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
Typical of this manufacturer, well made and well packaged. First job was a simple hammer drill for a wall fixing. It is seriously under powered for that unless my drill bit was just rubbish. (Came from the same manufacturer). Only thing to try is get a top quality bit and try again, at the moment, it is all packed away ready to give as a gift if I can find someone who needs it.
Great piece of kit
divadoll, 19. Aug 2013
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
Really light weight but up to the job with trade usage. Smaller slide on batteries are lighter but still hold great charge
Practical and well-priced Dril
Cub1, 19. Aug 2013
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
I bought this after using several other combi- and cordless drills. The product is durable and has a good range of bits available in addition to which I purchased a second battery pack. I'd recommend this for renovation and DIY but recognise in making this rating/review that the product may not be sufficiently powerful for professionals.
Don't waste your money
GLF1, 3. Jul 2013
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
battery is only 1.3Ah, you don't get much use out of it before you need to recharge it, buy the Hitachi instead - 2 x 1.5Ah Li-on batteries with it. This one is going back to Makita again as when I plug the battery in, the red and green lights on the charger come on to say that the battery is faulty, this is the same fault I reported initially not impressed
Most impressed
agydrvr, 26. Jun 2013
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
An impressive product. Tactile finish that feels well balanced. Very compact design belies excellent power and versatility. One quick charge gave me power for a weekend away caravanning (zipped jack legs down & back up again no problem) then, back home, fitted an external socket in brickwork (4 x 6mm holes x 35mm deep) plus 1 x 20mm x 200mm in double brickwork mortar for the cable. All using the hammer action. Then finished off by driving all the screws home using the supplied bit. Still plenty of charge left for another day! Great all rounder for DIY use! Early days to enthuse about reliability but it looks promising!
top combi!
drillington, 17. Jun 2013
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
For the money you can't go wrong! I have a few of this model and must say with heavy daily use they have all been faultless! Some may say the battery pack is small but I have a few spare 3ah battery's so this is not a big problem - quick charging of 30 min but I also have the 9amp charger so this battery is fully recharged in around 10 minutes - great drills!
Unbeatable value
omaghgirl, 13. Jun 2013
Value: 
Features: 
Performance: 
Reliability: 
"I purchased this drill/driver as an upgrade to my previous makita which was the ni/cad battery version. This drill is much lighter but packs a mighty punch, with a much longer battery life- up to 2/3 times longer. A great performer on a range of jobs (I've just completed a 12ft raised decking project). I would recommend this drill/driver for any type of user, from everyday DIY'ers to more advanced users who may require a light but powerful and reliable drill/driver. The saving in RRP of this drill makes it a real bargain and with a half price second battery availablethis really is an offer not to be missed. A+++++
Next Day Delivery
In Stock
Collection Available
Have a question? Call us on 03330 112 112